Valentine’s Day

In my creative writing class, we were asked to compose the message for a Valentine’s Day card.

Front:

If we were in elementary school and my mom had made cupcakes for me to take to class for our Valentine’s Day party, I would carefully examine each one to see which was the prettiest and had the most icing. I would set it aside to make sure nobody else took it and, when you got up to sharpen your pencil or go get a drink, I would place it on your desk with trembling hands and breath held tight against my ribs. From the safety of my seat, I would pretend not to notice while you ate the cupcake I had saved just for you and when the bell rang at the end of the day I would skip all the way home, euphoric and dizzy from the fall into love.

Inside:

Instead, we are adults and you had to work late tonight so I will leave this card on the kitchen counter and remind you to take the garbage out before you come to bed.

cupcake

Categories: stories and such | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. Meg

    I would like to buy one of these cards ASAP, please.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

